RSS

Lekach – Honey Cake

05 May

During the Easter holiday’s we had planned to go and stay at a friends. It got me thinking, I didn’t want to go empty-handed, and I wanted to give my friend something personal. So I thought what would be better than giving my friend 2 loaves of Lekach. You see my friend is from a Jewish background and they day we would arrive at her home would be Passover. Lekach is a popular spiced honey cake, which is normally eaten Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. Its dense sweet flavour is lovely to have as a desert or with a cup of tea.

Here are the ingredients for the Lekach I made –

Makes: 1 cake

  • 175g plain flour
  • 75g caster sugar
  • Half teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon mixed spice
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 100ml vegetable oil
  • 225g clear honey (I used Rowse Orange Blossom Honey)
  • Zest of 1 orange
  • 3 eggs
  • 100ml Apple juice (I use the juice of the orange I zest)
  • Garnish: Icing sugar

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 C/350 F/ Gas mark 4.

2. Grease and line 1 900g (2 pound) loaf tin.

3. In a large bowl or food mixer, combine the flour, sugar, ginger, cinnamon, mixed spice and bicarbonate of soda.

4. Add the oil, honey, zest of orange, eggs and apple juice and beat together until smooth.

5. Pour the cake mixture into the prepared tin.

6. Bake for about 50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle of the cake mixture comes out clean.

7. Leave to cool in the tin, then turn out and wrap tightly in cling film and then foil. Store for 2-3 days before serving to allow the flavours to mature.

Slice into squares and EAT or to serve the stylish way: Cut into squares and dust with a little icing sugar.  :)I hope you enjoy it just as much as my friend did! 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
